givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You Take The Good - You Take The Bad, You Take Them Both and There You Have TERI

My new job is so incredibly fun I can barely explain it. Suffice to say, it's the hardest physical job I have ever done. At this rate I should be svelt by at least mid-September of 2007!

Hah!

Anywho...it is a really great place to work, and my boss is like the hippest chick on the planet.

Today while we were washing chafing dishes and feverishly trying to close up the cafe' ~ She told me how it was my good karma in the universe that helped me find Senior Services and to work with her...she felt it was her destiny for us to meet. She told me how happy she is to have me as her employee and how much she appreciates how hard I work.

I practically had to ask for the electric defibulator since I have never had a boss who has:

1. Spoke to me like an equal
2. Treated me as an equal
3. Worked side by side in the trenches busting their ass right along with you...
4. Actually seemed appreciative of the work I am doing.

Considering I have never done any sort of catering work, waitressing work, food service work, geriatric work....I think I am batting a million right about now.

The only down side is ~ it's a part time position at around 30 hours per week and no benefits. I am hopeful that maybe if I am diligent enough and work hard enough maybe they'll figure out a way to hire me full time.

On the unemployment front...oh yeah, the big fat DENIAL on the protest rights appeal. Basically they told me that because I was fired for misconduct from the HolierThanThouBronsonHospital that I exercised blatant disregard for my employer and therefore do not deserve now or ever to have unemployment benefits.

You can imagine my merriment and glee when I read that letter. I practically came unglued. Of course it was on a Saturday when I cannot call them, nor drive to their office and pull a huge firearm and bully my way into benefits.

So now, once again I have to petition for an appeal and this time it gets assigned to a law clerk (who the fuck did it go to before? some pre-pubescent idiot behind a desk?) who will review it and that can take up to another five weeks. Good God almighty. I swear the name of the game is to wear you down and break your spirit.

Well, they cannot break me. I will prevail and I will win and I will get pay retroactive to February 22nd and they'll do it because they'll be so sick of hearing from me...

Ooooh, don't I sound tough? Maybe I can borrow http://kungfukitten.diaryland.com ninja suit and do some kungfu fightin'.
Ho!

5:52 p.m. - Wednesday, Jun. 07, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo