givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If You Say Flip Flop One More Time...

The other day somehow the remote magically stopped on Oprah's talk show and they were talking about people who are not registered to vote.

First of all let's talk some really fucked up numbers here.

40 million women didn't vote in the last election. If those women voted this time we could swing the ENTIRE vote ourselves.

Don't give me the bullshit that your vote doesn't count. Get off your lazy ass and go make your voice be heard. There is NO excuse to sit back and continue to watch our country get sucked down the toilet by a blithering idiot who cannot even pronounce the word NUCLEAR correctly. *deep sigh*

Other than people just not bothering to vote there were people in the audience who had never voted in their life!

There was an African American woman aged somewhere in her late fifties who had never voted. Not that she wanted to and couldn't, she just didn't care.

I practically kicked my foot through the god damn television screen. Has she never heard of the fucking civil rights movement? How about the suffragists who rotted in jail so women could be allowed to vote?

I was apalled to hear people say they just didn't have time.

I say put down the stupid cell phone and quit having your precious nails done and wake up and smell the stench of rotten democracy.

Oh, I could go on and on and on some more, but I won't.

Suffice to say, I am a registered voter and if I could afford it, I would charter a bus for election day and ride all around town picking up voters and getting them to the polls.

God, I wished I could get to Detroit. Apparently, the republicans don't want people who live in Detroit to get to the polls this year...go figure.

Anyway, for whatever moronic reason my family (with the exception of my mom) is voting for Bush. I fail to understand how anyone who has half a lick of sense would even consider that man for President.

I'll stick with the bumper sticker I saw on a truck a few weeks ago:

"Somewhere in Texas, a village is missing an idiot"

11:26 p.m. - Saturday, Oct. 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo