givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long Overdue Rant

Today was close...very close, almost borderline dangerously close.

Cheri (my Republican co-worker) and I somehow got on the topic of the election.

Now that I think about it, I know what prompted my initial outburst.

A patient came in wearing a photo button the size of her head pinned to her jacket. The picture was of none other than our beloved Jackass of a President Bush. In big bold letters it said, "Re-elect the Best!"

I practically vomitted on the spot.

It was one of those gutteral (sp?) sounds that evades one when their mind is completely blown by the lunacy of what it has seen.

I uttered a huge sigh complete with eye roll, plus a "ugh" like you've never heard before.

I felt badly because Cheri is a really nice woman and I enjoy working with her despite our differences.

Today I just couldn't help myself. Maybe it was my pre-election anxiety creeping up.

Perhaps it was my plan to move to Mexico and live in my mud hut throwing back tequila all the live long day if that jackass gets re-elected.

Bite my tongue...no wait...stop my fingers from typing.

I have not been an avid prayer in years, but I may just have to crack out the prayers to the higher on highs to deliver us into a time of intellectual enlightenment.

I was desperately trying to understand the moral philosophical fabric from which Cheri was reasoning.

From our brief discussion I have came up with these most basic republican tenets:

1. Govern yourself - because anyone else is just too much damn control.

2. Kill or be killed.

3. It's okay to kill if "we" deem it justified...not American babies, but Iraqi babies are okay...

4. National healthcare is bad. People should be responsible for taking care of themselves and their parents only.

5. Is it my fault that people cannot read, write, fend for themselves in their most basic needs like security, housing, food....my taxes shouldn't pay for that...they should work and figure it out like everyone else.

6. My money should never mix with YOUR money...and you should NEVER get to have any of my money...absolutely under no circumstances.

It got ugly there at the end. Cheri actually said that we needed to agree to disagree, which is okay. I just desperately wanted to understand where that thinking comes from.

Is it some kind of Divine Command theory? God says, therefore I do?

Is it Natural Law? Preserve life at all costs...mainly to the moral community or moral majority.

I tried to explain to Cheri how I could not justify killing lives to save lives.

She then went on with her republican brainwashed rhetoric about how Hussein had to be taken down...blah, blah, blah and how he was a dictator.

I then questioned her as to why the United States all of a sudden was the world police. We have no support from the United Nations for what we are doing. We are the laughing stock of the world. I am sure Germany and Russia are sitting over there laughing it up thinking, "look at that jackass with the big ears...won't he be surprised when we blow his ass to kingdom come?"

I then tried to push her as Peg my moral/ethics/philosophy teacher does at school. I told her that just because we saw Hussein as a dictator, doesn't mean that all people that lived there hated the way things were governed.

Is it our place to go and do such things?

I even went so far as to tell her that places like China may look at us and think that we are somehow oppressed being RULED by an idiot like King George and that we need to have an operation American Freedom.

She couldn't phathom the gigantic leap I had made. I know it isn't really the same, but work with me a bit.

One could argue that point of view.

I also have to say this one thing about Senator John Kerry. In the last debate I absolutely LOVED the way he handled the question about abortion. He said how he was a Catholic and abortion went against an article of faith in the Catholic church, however, he didn't believe that because his church or ideologies made him feel a certain way that he could dictate to an entire country through our laws.

It was brilliant. Not to mention that he was able to get in a good dig about Clarence "the pube" Thomas and Antonin "let's have another 13 kids" Scalia and how they being natural law supporters and how they interpret the law.

It was beauty, sheer beauty.

Oh, and one more thing on my rant. Has anyone come out with the George W. Bush Bauble head doll because that fucker's head baubles front to back more than my dashboard dog.

*sigh*

3:56 p.m. - Monday, Oct. 11, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo