givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hooked On Ebonics

I cracked myself up today at work.

I decided I want someone to fund my little parody:

"hooked on ebonics"

*disclaimer - please, don't email me calling me some racist bitch...

okay, now onto the funny part. This guy Dave that works in my department is about the most annoying person on the planet.

I swear he must be the governor's son because this man is the poster child for the organization I work for and I fail to understand why.

I digress.

Dave is the reason that I need to purchase Hooked on Ebonics. I cannot understand a fuckin' thing he says.

For instance...most words have the "zez" sound tacked onto the end and I cannot figure out why.

Let's review some vocabulary shall we?

Wheelchairs = Wheel-zez-chair-zez
Ambulance = Am-bull-ance-zez
Hospital = Hos-pit-al-ER
Teri = Ter-iz
Hosta = hospice
(yep, you read it right, one is a perennial and one is a human service organization)

Where does an "er" sound come into play in the word Hospital which ends in the letter "l"?

I guess what I think is most interesting is during our staff meetings he'll make the most ridiculous statements, and never is corrected.

Is it inappropriate to correct dialect?

Today in Ethics someone was giving a presentation and said the word, "en-roach" instead of "encrouch" and my professor corrected her. The student was caucasion, therefore is it okay to correct?

I'll take "teach me some ebonics-zez for a grand, Alex-zez".

11:39 p.m. - Thursday, Dec. 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo