givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Family Health Center

I would like to say, God Bless The Family Health Center on the north side of Kalamazoo.

What an organization. They are helping so many people with their outreach services....and I am eternally grateful to be one of them.

When I got fired from BRONSON Hospital earlier this month I also lost my prescription coverage. As most of you know, I have had quite a bit of medical problems over the last six years.

I take 7 prescriptions per month and when I had coverage would cost me about $160 out of pocket.

I have one medication Depakote that costs $245 per month without coverage.

You can imagine how freaked out I got when I had to figure out how I was going to pay for that medication or end up on a shooting spree on Vine Street.

Anyway, without having any children I don't qualify for Medicaid. The Adult Medical Program through the county is frozen currently because of lack of funding. So, the kind worker at Social Services told me about the program at the Family Health Center.

This program is for people who do not have insurance and need to be seen my physicians, need lab work done, and need to have prescriptions filled. You can get certain medications filled there for $5 if it is generic and $10 if it is non-generic.

So, today I was able to go and enroll with this nice woman named Lindsay and I was able to purchase my Depakote for a mere $10. I am so thankful.

Unfortunately there are some medications they just don't cover at all so I'll have to figure that out, but that's another problem for another day.

As I sat waiting for my prescription to be filled I saw someone who works at Bronson sitting down there with her mother waiting for her to finish up some lab work.

Angie (the employee)wanted to know what I was doing filling my Rx down there as opposed to Bronson. I explained how I had been let go.

She was so kind. She went on and on in front of all these people about how I was such an asset to Bronson and how most people barely perform the basic customer service skills in their job.

She explained to her mom how I was the person that you saw when you first walked in the door and how I was always happy and gave 150% everyday.


She was shocked that I was let go from there, but if your manager doesn't like you and they want you gone...they will find a way.

It's gonna be okay. I know it is. It just takes time.

Thanks Angie for the ray of sunshine and thank you Family Health Center for filling a huge void in Kalamazoo County. There are a lot of us that would fall through the cracks.

Lord knows that unemployment isn't a speedy situation. It can take anywhere from 8-12 weeks to receive benefits. What exactly does one do in the meantime?

I had an interview at a temp agency today and I was contacted by another company that I sent a resume to for a contract coordinator position.

I am hopeful something will come available to me in the near future.

Thank you most to Tracy for being so supportive and loving me even when I don't bring a cent into our household.

3:18 p.m. - Friday, Mar. 24, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo