givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Teri Buckman in the Belltower

Sitting in the pharmacy department of WalMart crying on a bench while Tracy finished up at the bottle return machine...

I must have looked so pathetic to the various shoppers at the mart. I sat their in my flip-flops, purse on my lap like an old lady...eyes fixed on the floor as tears ran down my cheeks.

Since I don't have prescription coverage I found out about this program called TogetherRxAccess. It is a bunch of pharmaceutical companies "generously" putting forth a pretty blue plastic card to help those who are totally unfortunate get help with their medications.

The Family Health Center...the most amazing place on this planet, helped me to get a bunch of my medications for either $5 or $10 a piece, which is better than I was paying when I had medical coverage...however, my Advair Inhaler that I use to keep my asthma at a maintenance level isn't covered because it is too much money for them to sell at that price.

So.....I called every pharmacy in town and Sam's Joint had the cheapest Advair Diskus (the discrepancy among pharmacies is amazing...you should really shop around if you can).

WalMart's price was $176.00, and naturally they couldn't give me the discounted price over the phone because they had to run the card, yadda, yadda, yadda, blah, blah, blah.

As I stand at the pick up window hoping for a low price, because you know their signs says, Always Low Prices...I was praying for an Easter Time Miracle folks.

Well, Pharmacy Jim tells me that is is going to be $140.00 with the discount.

I smile sheepishly and tell him I cannot purchase it today and I'll be back soon to get it.

I felt like Debra Winger in Terms of Endearment when she didn't have enough money at the grocery store and everyone was staring at her.

I turned, plopped onto the benches which face the antacids and began to quietly cry.

To top it all off, I found out today that TheEmeraldCityofBronson denied my unemployment benefits so I have to exercise my protest rights (I like how that sounds) and appeal. The next step can take up to 5 weeks. It has already been 6 weeks.

I am so frustrated. I am getting no job leads from the temp agencies, I have sent out what feels like a million and one resumes and all of it feels like pissing in the wind.

Taco Bell is hiring down the street. I am seriously going their tomorrow to apply for a job. I don't look good in visor's nor do I look good in purple...but I will do it to put a paycheck in the bank.

Damn Bronson....damn you, damn you, damn you for being discriminating biggots and big, and mean and ornery and hiding behind the guise of your customer service goodness.......

Have you seen the movie Parenthood? When Kevin Buckman is in the belltower and showering the streets below with bullets? One of the scared civilians screams out, "it's Kevin Buckman in the belltower..his parents totally screwed him up.."

God, I hope I don't get to that crazy point. Somedays the line between insane/sane seems pretty thin.


10:21 p.m. - Wednesday, Apr. 12, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo