givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What Goes Around Really Does Come Around....

Today was my first real day at work and it was super duper terrific fun times! Can you believe it? I certainly am going to be busy, but no complaints here!!

My day started off with a visit to ye old human resources department at Bronson. Why my non-profit gets their badges done there I am not really sure, but anywho...I had to go and get mine today for work.

I was feeling a bit skiddish about the whole deal seeing as how once TheEmeraldCity fires you, you don't get to hang out on their property unless you are bleeding out your eyes and are seeking medical treatment.

So...I was a bit worried the keystone cops might meet me in the parking lot at the mere sight of my baby blue metallic suzuki.

The whole scene was magical and surreal. I walked in and was greeted by tired ol' customer service hag from my former department. She put on her best, "I am soooo interested in how you are doing...really..." smile and asked me of course, "how are you dear?"

I of course, smiled the cheshire smile and breezed by stating, "GREAT! Thanks for asking".

As I get to the HR counter my friend Karen who is sitting by the desk is totally geeked to see me and so kindly tells me how great I look and how nice the color scarf I have on around my neck is....it was gratuitous flattery, but I was happy to receive it none the less.

Karen then asked me if I still wanted the copies of my official personnel file. I told her that if Bronson was going to continue to deny my unemployment then yes, I would like it.

With that statement, the woman who happened to be standing at the other end of the counter lifts her head and whips it around to see who is saying such a slanderous and terrible thing against TheEmeraldCity.

When she looked up I realized that it was none other than my former supervisor's best friend (both at work and outside of work).

I just smiled and smiled and smiled and smiled some more knowing the moment I walked away she was going to bust a nail getting to my previous boss to tell her all the lurid details.

It truly was a justified kinda way to start my day.

Once I arrived at my job - it was fun, busy and happy people.

Things are looking up folks!

Oh, update on the unemployment benefits.

So...remember the protest rights letter that I submitted 5, yes I said 5 long weeks ago?

Well, as it turns out the person who had it sitting on their desk for the last five weeks hasn't bothered to make a judgment on it, so now it is officially late.

Now it will be turned over to a manager to make a decision within 48 hours. Gee, nothing like making me wait.

The major bonus is that if they rule against me then I have to appeal for an actual hearing and wait another five weeks....good times, good times.

And the hits keep coming!

6:58 p.m. - Tuesday, May. 30, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo