givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Day At The Gyno

So I had the most humiliating experience on Thursday at the OB/GYN's office.

I had to go for a repeat pap, which I was already like 4 months late for...oops.

I was feeling extraordinarily lazy in the shower that day so I didn't shave my legs. I mean truly, I thought there was just a smidgen of stubble.
No biggee right?

Then the cu de gras of the day was getting my period literally 2 hours prior to my appointment. God, could it be worse?

I knew I couldn't reschedule my appointment as the ol' cooch doc was not impressed that I was already so late for my follow up appointments. Lack of insurance does that to a gal ya know?

I digresss.

When Peggy the Med. Assistant took my blood pressure it something ridiculous like 140/82 when mine is normally 117/70.

I couldn't really tell Peggy I was secretly praying for a get outta pap free due to period card now could I? I must have been ruminating about that for awhile to get my pressure up that high...good golly.

Damn, no free card.

Here's the paper drape from the waist down honey.

Eeeew. Semi-bloody beaver on the paper. Could I feel more stupid?

Oh yes, I could. I look down to admire my nifty fun socks and realize my legs are MORE than just a little stubbly...they are like the sheep I see on 9th street each day! The Horror.

THEN....my doctor comes in and shakes my hand to say hello to me and I DROPPED the paper sheet on the floor.

Now, I know he is going to see me anyway, but that paper feels like your only saving grace.

So not only was I sitting there all hairy on my legs, but he got an early beaver shot too.

God, may my pap be normal and I not have to go back for an entire year. The humiliation should end by then.

The upside is that he only charged me $54 for the visit which for an OB/GYN that's pretty darn cheap.

Between you and me and I think he took pity on me.

Luckily for him I was the last patient of the day and he could go home and have a tall cocktail.

2:05 a.m. - Monday, Oct. 16, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo