givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Day In The Life Of A Protester

Well, I did it.

I feel so much better even if it didn't mean anything to anyone but me.

I stood at the intersection where all the cars turning in to see President Bush would have to see me on their way into the parking lot.

Since I am the overzealous type, I of course arrived at least 90 minutes before any other protesters.

I must say I was a little nervous at first because I was all alone in the midst of hundreds of cars with sneering passengers.

Finally, after being called an "asshole", and told to "get a life and go home"...all by the same elderly white man, I thought to myself, "fuck you" and stood up from the fold-out camping chair I brought and I stood up.

I did more than stand up.

I put that sign above my head and I walked back and forth for ALL to see. I did this for a full 90 minutes before anyone else arrived.

I was kind of hard to miss, so it was wonderful when they spotted me and joined me along Sprinkle Road.

My sign could have said so many venomous sayings, but I thought I would keep it simple.

I went to the Office Max early Monday morning and purchased a piece of red foam core board (I had to calculate the wind factor you see) and some four inch stick on black letters.

Home I went in excitement of the upcoming protest.

I wrote: Anti-War

Anti-Bush

Simple, but yet effective. I saw alot better ones, such as, "the only Bush I trust is my own" or "out of Iraq, out of my state", or "Regime change begins at home"...

It was fun. As I stood there alone with the wind whipping my hair and pushing me backwards with my sign held high, I came to the realization that if I had been able to protest in the sixties, I would have been arrested and certainly bra-less as it would be on fire baby!

Vote NOOOOOOOO Bush in November!

Get Out - Get Involved - Take Someone to the Poll with you!!!!

11:20 p.m. - Tuesday, May. 04, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo