givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I AM A STUDENT AGAIN!

I cannot believe it has been 16 days since I updated my site. I don't think I have ever had that long of a dry spell.

Guess what????

I am officially a student again. Yep, eleven years after my bachelor of arts degree I am going back to purse a Registered Nursing degree at one of the local community colleges.

For having such a nursing shortage...you wouldn't know it by the waiting lists at all the colleges.

I will start the "program" in January 2006...yes, you read that correctly, not this coming January...but NEXT January.

Oh well, it actually works out okay because I have a bunch of classes that I need to take before actually starting the program.

So...at the end of August I am taking Algebra...and this "required creativity course" called "Ethical Dilemmas in a modern society". That should be a blast.

It will be good to have a class to offset my intense, irrational fear of math.

In college I took the Math for Retards course and then absolutely nothing after that. To be a nurse, you kinda need to have some math so you can do the chemistry.

It's probably a good idea to know how to set i.v.'s with the right drip formula per hour don't ya think???

In spite of being very scared, I am very excited. I am happy because I feel like I am finally getting my life on track career-wise and will be a good nurse when the time comes.

I sort of feel like Charlene in that episode of Designing Women when she goes back to school and goes a bit overboard.

I suppose I am an idealistic romantic that way and think that the whole school realm will be this magical wonderful learning environment - and that I won't feel old if I just dress cool like the other kids.

Somehow...I just don't think that is gonna happen...particularly since I have seen way too many people in tube tops, frilly ruffle mini skirts (circa 1982) and bad jelly-like pumps. Can we say going to school for the oldest profession???

2:56 p.m. - Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo