givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I said what?

Yesterday at work this sweet woman was waiting with me at the door for her husband to pull up with the car and pick her up.

I told her that I would wheel her out to the car when he pulled up. She was very pleasant and was talking to both my co-worker and I about her recent doctor appointment.

In good spirits, although somewhat saddened, she informed us that she was just diagnosed with Alzheimers. Of course, I told her that I was sorry she had received such news. She responded with a smile and said that she has had 83 good years so she can't complain.

Usually when we are getting ready to assist someone to their car, we are watching for the car to move out of a space in the lot.

Of course, today was no different.

Then all of a sudden, the most idiotic thing came out of my mouth.

"Is your car a blue Taurus?"

She paused, smiled, then nodded.

As I was wheeling her outside, I realized that I had just asked a woman who was diagnosed with frickin' Alzheimer's to recall her car and color of her car.

When I got inside, my co-worker was cracking up as I realized what I had done.

I felt just terrible. I suppose it's not like I asked her who her 3rd grade teacher was or anything like that.

I guess this is where the Nursing Compassion 101 course will come in handy...

3:39 a.m. - Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo