givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tomatoes and a Lime Green Pinto

Today I went to a local greenhouse and bought my almighty grape tomato plant for my container garden AND some cucumber plants.

Yummy feta cheese, noodles, olives, cucumbers, tomatoes and italian dressing...a patio party dish in the making.

I swear I could live off that salad alone.

Last year my grape tomato plant - Yes ONE plant, got to be over six feet tall and at least four feet wide.

Instead of going to my neighbors with a cute little Martha Stewart basket complete with muffins and a matching napkin...I was like the mad tomato peddler from hell.

Please...take these tomatoes...I can't eat them fast enough.

I have this great recipe for fresh salsa but again, how much salsa can I eat in a summer? Wait. Don't answer that?

Can you freeze that? Can it? If so I don't know how to can, but I could probably check with my mom as she was the canning guru when I was growing up.

We used to make these bread and butter pickles...I hated them, but everyone around seemed to love them. Or so we thought.

I always thought we were so cool as a family when I was a kid.

Looking back I realize how lucky I am that I didn't get the shit kicked out of me all through school.

We drove a lime green 1974 Ford Pinto station wagon that my mother made curtains for out of these really loud yellow, white and lime green checkered towels. As a child I thought I was the shit since I could put the seat down and play with Ballerina Barbie and roll out my sleeping bag and take a nap without the hassle of sun in my eyes.

Now I realize...NERDS. We were big nerdy people driving a big lime car with WOOD PANELING on the side.

What were my parents thinking?

Another case in point is when my mom, dad and I had matching faux leather, also known as PLEATHER, tan jackets that snapped up the front and had these HUGE belts in the middle.

It was really bad.

Don't get me wrong ~ I love my parents but looking back I don't know which is a sadder statement:

Realizing we weren't cool...or really ever thinking that we were.

Scary.

10:32 p.m. - Friday, May. 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo