givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Prince of Tides

Tonight I happen to stumble across the movie The Prince of Tides. I cannot believe that I have never seen this movie before. Someone close to me used to reference this movie quite a bit and I never fully understood why, maybe I never will entirely see the whole picture so to speak, but I'd like to think that somewhere in my heart a piece of this persons life became clearer.

I got to thinking about how in the movie Barbra Streisand had said that she felt like she had been asleep for years until she fell in love with Nick Nolte.

Life is sort of strange that way. You look at people around you and you believe they are probably happy because they may have a nice house, working car, cool job, whatever you may potentially view as a "good" quality or trait of happiness.

When in reality these people may not be happy just like you aren't happy. They are just co-existing through life because they don't know how not to.

Ultimately, Barbra and Nick have 6 weeks of sheer, unadultered (no pun intended) happiness. They are able to better understand parts of their souls that held them back in the past.

I felt this feeling recently.

It was the most incredible thing I think I have ever felt. Even if for only a brief moment, it felt as though I had taken off a heavy coat and was able to walk with my shoulders back and head held high.

When that elation isn't there...it's sort of scary to realize just how average or possibly mundane day to day living can be.

I suppose one could argue in Barbra's situation that they were in some honeymoon phase and it's all fun and games until you are shackled with life's "real" problems.

Yeah, I suppose that's true, but it sure was fun while it lasted...Barbra and Nick of course.

3:17 a.m. - Monday, May. 23, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo