givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snakes

So my dearest Tracy is gone to Marysville for her 20 year class reunion which leaves me home to fend for myself.

Not a bad deal albeit, but since we have had torrential rains every afternoon for the last week, not to mention the 90+ heat and fucking humidity...mowing the lawn has not been a task easily accomplished by my wonderful partner Tracy.

Having that said...yesterday was the only afternoon where the sun wasn't blazing into my skin, and the threat of rain wasn't too terrible.

I headed out to mow my small, but tedious yard.

Round One: Pick up dog pooh-pooh.

Joy...shear, unadultered joy. I shouldn't complain, I figured out this super duper simple system and it's not really that bad.

BUT...as I was bending over to pick up one of the many sticks that fell during one of our many, many storms I saw a SNAKE in the grass. It slithered away, but that didn't stop me from doing the heebey-jeebey dance and audibly talking myself off the ledge.

I cannot begin to express my disdain over snakes. I know it's stupid, I also know it's irrational. That doesn't matter though, there is just something about them that makes me freak out and not be able to breathe and want to run screaming like a girl for the highest perch in the yard.

Round Two: After taking the token 15 minutes to gather my senses after the "incident", I realize there is not going to be any better time to mow the lawn then right then. The sky was darkening, and I knew that Sunday was supposed to be a scorcher as well.

I sucked it up and managed to mow the lawn and didn't even cry.

As I look out the office window as I type this it sort of looks like I was mowing in a weird trance like state as there are parts of the lawn that look not quite right.

I may have to venture back out there and take a gander.

Monday it is supposed to be 100 degrees here with a heat index of even higher and let me tell you how excited I am about it...

I would rather eat fucking glass, and tomorrow morning at work anyone who says, "gee, it's gonna be a hot one", automatically gets a two by four to the side of the head.

Call it a complimentary Monday wake up call!

3:15 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 24, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo