givemeabreak's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Elephant Euthanasia

2 updates in one evening...aren't you lucky?

So as I was perusing the news on my yahoo page I came across a headline about an elephant at a "safe haven refuge" in Tennessee that trampled and killed her trainer.

Okay, I am not for animal cruelty, nor am I for human cruelty, but if I had to pick one or the other...I think I could stomach the human cruelty more.

Does that make me vile and wrong?

Anyway, these elephants at this place come from an entertainment background (don't get me started -- boo, hiss, hiss, bad circus) so yeah, they are probably cranky in their old age and really don't give one half of a great god damn as to what their "trainer" has in store for them each day.

I digress.

The story tells about how the trainer was killed instantly by the 7,600 pound Asian Elephant named Winkie and the person who stepped in (can we say stupid?) was also harmed, however, not killed.

The article then went on to say they did not have details as to whether or not the elephant would be euthanized.

I may have to make a trip to Tennessee for some activist protesting campers. What the fuck is that about? Supposedly this place is a haven for abused carnie ridin' elephants and they want to euthanize it?

I get so pissed off...where does one begin to make changes. Didn't Jen Fish Suuuuuperstar say that she wanted to become a hermit and not watch television anymore? I think that may be a good idea for me too.

1:47 a.m. - Monday, Jul. 24, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Paeggan
Ursamajor
ToeJam
Heidiann
Starlight42
Almost-sane
Cherkitty
Moonstone21
Alldecadence
busybean
science-girl
Jacqueline21
Chubbychic
Suenosverde
Sherpahigh
Thirdeye7601
jfsuperstar
kungfukitten
loudwoman

Blingo